Euthyphro 2021

Euthyphro 2021, an online discussion forum on Medical Ethics, organized by the Apprentice Journal, Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya was held on the 25th of September 2021 via the Zoom virtual platform. Two teams of four members and two reserves each, represented the Faculty of Medicine, University of Jaffna under the team names of “Phoenix” and “Daedalus”. Team “Phoenix” comprised Miss Bhanuka Ravikumar (captain), Mr Nalendran Jeevithan, Mr Kannanathan Piranavan, Miss Sohana Sothipragasam, Mr Ravindu Sankalpa Gunathilaka (reserve) from the 40th batch and Miss Bhavana Sivayogan (reserve) from the 39th batch.

Team “Daedalus” comprised Miss Gopikha Sivakumar (captain), Miss Thurga Subbiya, Mr Narayanamoorthy Aburajan, Miss Thenuja Sivasubramaniam from the 41st batch, and Miss Naushad Fasila Begum (reserve) and Miss Keerthika Vijayakumar (reserve) from the 42nd batch. 

Excluding the two teams from our Faculty, there were eight teams representing five Medical Faculties from the Universities of Colombo, Sri Jayawardenepura, Peradeniya, Kelaniya,Nanjing Medical University (China), and the Faculty of Dental Sciences, University of Peradeniya. Out of the ten participating teams, Team Daedalus was placed first, with the teams from the Medical Faculties of the Universities of Peradeniya and Sri Jayawardenepura obtaining second and third places respectively.

The team won because of untiring dedication, untiring planning and excellent teamwork. This will be an example for future batches of this faculty.

The Faculty of Medicine highly appreciated Dr. R. Surenthirakumaran, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of Jaffna and the Medical Students’ Union for their support.