Division of Microbiology established in 1982 under the Department of Pathology. The following lecturers contributed immensely to Division Microbiology in the past difficult period.

Dr. R. Narenthiranathan

Dr. (Mrs.) S. Vetpillai

Dr. V. S. Pathmanathan (Visiting Lecturer)

Dr. Velayuthapillai (Visiting Lecturer)

Prof. V. Gunananthan

Prof. Vasanthi Thevanesam, Department of Microbiology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Peradeniya support enormously to the Division of Microbiology in all the aspects and contributed to the revision of curriculum.

Prof. Natkunam Ketheesan, our visiting staff from James Cook University, Queensland, is not only supporting us in conducting the Immunology course for medical students, but also providing diagnostic kits for students practical and collaborative research activities.