Ethics Review Committee

Applicants are requested to read the guidelines and the relevant sections of the SOP and submit all relevant documents along with the application to avoid delays.

SOP Version 4 is effective from July 1, 2021.

Please go through the Guide to Applicants and Fee Structure before completing the Application for Ethics Review.

ERC Monthly Meeting schedule - 2024

Month Date Day
January 26th Friday
February 22nd Thursday
March 28th Thursday
April 25th Thursday
May 30th Thursday
June 27th Thursday
July 25th Thursday
August 22nd Thursday
September 26th Thursday
October 24th Thursday
November 28th Thursday
December 26th Thursday

All applicants submitting an application on September 1, 2021 or thereafter must use the Application Form and the guidelines relevant to the SOP Version 4.


Necessary Documents

Application for Ethics Review (PDF/ Word)

Standard Operating Procedures – Version 4.0 (Download)

Guidelines to Applicants (Download)

Progress Report Form (PDF/ Word)

Completion Report Form (PDF/ Word)

Adverse Event Reporting Form (PDF/ Word)

Paying in Voucher for Shroff Counter/UOJ (Download)

Account details for bank payment (Download)



Prof. S. Sivayokan
Consultant Psychiatrist
Teaching Hospital, Jaffna



Dr. Nirubaa Umasankar
Senior Lecturer in Paediatrics
Department of  Paediatrics,
Faculty of Medicine
University of Jaffna



Dr. P. A. D. Coonghe
Senior Lecturer
Dept. of Community & Family Medicine,
Faculty of Medicine,
University of Jaffna


Vice- Secretary

Dr. S. Gobisangar
Senior Lecturer
Department of Surgery,
Faculty of Medicine,
University of Jaffna



Prof. Meena Senthilnanthanan
Professor in Chemistry,
Faculty of Science,
University of Jaffna

Dr.S. Raguraman
Senior Lecturer in Obstetrics and Gynecology,
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology,
Faculty of Medicine,
University of Jaffna

Dr.(Mrs.)Yalini Guruparan
Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology,
Department of Pharmacology,
Faculty of Medicine,
University of Jaffna.

Dr. R. Karunaithas
Senior Lecturer
Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences,
Faculty of Allied Health Sciences,
University of Jaffna

Dr. T. Thileepan
Senior Lecturer,
Unit of Siddha Medicine,
University of Jaffna

Mrs. S. Pratheepa
Department of Zoology,
Faculty of Science,
University of Jaffna.

Mrs.Thushani Shayanthan
Senior Lecturer,
Department of Law,
University of Jaffna.

Mrs. K. Murugathas
Senior Asst. Librarian
Faculty of Medicine,
University of Jaffna

Dr. Sivaranjany Ravichandren
Visiting Physician,
Base Hospital,
Point Pedro

Dr. B. Nishahan
Consultant Physician
Base Hospital,

Dr. Noel Arasaratnam Vimalendran
Retired Principal,
Jaffna College.

Mr. S. Rasendiran Somasundram
Retired Nursing Officer

Contact Administrative Secretary 
ERC Office,
Faculty of Medicine,
University of Jaffna,
Adiyapatham Road,

Telephone No: 0212222073, Extension 342